Pizza Primavera

Many of you know (from my twitter series) that I have been reading the book Eat Pray Love and have been luh-ving it. Reading the Italy section got me thinking about pizzas. And by “thinking about” I mean obsession over and craving 24/7. So, tonight, I decided that it was time to take matters into my own hands (and avoid ruining all my hard work at the gym) and create my own healthy masterpiece. I set out to make the most amazing vegetable pizza on the planet. And, ladies and gentlemen, I am happy to say that I succeeded.

I am extremely picky about vegetables (which, I’m sure is amusing since I am a vegetarian). My like/dislike for each vegetable rests solely on the way it is prepared. If veggies are crunchy, they’d better be raw. I hate cooked and cruchy veggies. If they are cooked, I want them either thin and crispy or soft. High maintenance? I prefer the term “attentive to detail”. So for me, preparing a pizza that was comprised entirely of veggies was an excerize in planning. I wanted to make sure that my veggies were the perfect texture. And with 3 different types of veggies, I had quite a task at hand. I decided to slice them all into super thin dollars and roast them. I had never roasted eggplant or zucchini before but I knew that I adored roasted tomatoes so I figured that the rest would be just as good. I was right. Roasting made them crispy around the edges and soft in the middle. It brought out the most wonderfully warm and rich flavors. The kind of flavors you can’t get from veggies cooked any other way. I also decided to use blackening seasonings on them, just for a bit of kick. No one likes bland veggies. And I decided to make my own pepperoni from the frozen seitan sausage logs I had saved. Sheer brilliance, I tell you! I could have eaten the entire thing. My mouth definitely wanted to. But after 2 pieces, I was stuffed and laying across the sofa in pizza bliss.

Marie’s Pizza Primavera

Ingredients:
1/2 lg eggplant, sliced into thin dollars
1 zucchinni, sliced into thin dollars
2 roma tomatoes, sliced into dollars
1/2 seitan sausage log, sliced into pepperoni sized pieces (optional)
1 c. pasta sauce (preferably one with onions already cooked in)
1 whole wheat pizza crust (or make your own from scratch)
Sprinkling of either mozzarella cheese or nooch (optional)
1/2 tsp. minced garlic
Old Bay Blackening Seasoning
Salt & Pepper
Basil
Oregano

Prepare the veggies:
1. Preheat oven to 450. Move rack to highest position.
2. Drizzle olive oil all over a cookie sheet. Cover the sheet with the sliced veggies trying to not allow them to cover each other
3. Drizzle olive oil on top of the veggies, sprinkle with salt and pepper and old bay blackening seasonings
4. Roast for 15 minutes.

Prepare the seitan pepperoni:
5. In a small saucepan over medium heat warm olive oil and old bay blackening seasonings
6. Add seitan slices and let them saute for about 1-2 mintues on each side or until slightly crispy
7. Remove from heat, set aside

Prepare the pizza
8. Spread pasta sauce over the pizza crust, being careful to leave about and inch clean all the way around
9. Spread garlic throughout sauce. Sprinkle with basil and oregano (sprinkle with mozzarella cheese here if you’d like or nooch)
10. Place the roasted eggplant slices in consecutive circles covering the entire pizza
11. Layer the roasted zucchinni slices in consecutive circles covering the eggplant
12. Scatter the roasted tomato slices across the top
13. Scatter seitan pepperoni around the outside, tucking them under the veggies at the edges
14. Sprinkle with oregano and basil, salt and pepper. Bake for 10 minutes

We enjoyed this with a bottle of shiraz-cab and it was delicious!!! The rich berry flavor complimented the roasted vegetables perfectly. Enjoy dinner nirvana my friends!

One Response

Leave a Reply

