Breakfast Balls

I still get mildly (but only mildly) annoyed when people ask me how I survive without protein. I mean, how can anyone really not know the answer to this? Obviously the answer is that I can’t, and obviously I’m alive, so I must be getting it from somewhere. But, I just look at them and sweetly answer that most meat-eating Americans eat 3x more protein than their bodies actually need and that there are many substantial plant-based sources such as beans and legumes. They usually look at me a little cross-eyed, probably imagining me eating a big pile of black-eyed-peas every day and usually make a remark about how they could never survive without steak. Maybe they are surviving, but is their body really living?

Breakfast is the most important meal of the day. It is also the easiest way for me to try and cut calories. I love to skip breakfast, have a coffee and save those calories to be spent later on. But I know that’s not healthy. And I hear that eating breakfast actually helps those trying to loose weight to loose it. However, I doubt that eating milk and sugary cereal or a calorie-ridden bagel really does the trick. Still, there’s no denying the desire for something sweet in the morning.

After hearing about “breakfast cookies” from various foodie blogs I follow, I decided to give them a try. They were good. Really good. So I tried them again, tweaking a few things to make them even better (and more portable), and also trying to pack them full of as much protein as possible (Fuller longer? Yes please!). These are so delicious! They contain a whopping 14 grams of plant-based protein in each serving (for referece, 2 large eggs contain 12 grams of protein), are a good source of omegas, calcium, magnesium, folate, and potassium, have only 214 calories, contain NO animal products (vegan), taste very much like balls of cookie dough, and they have chocolate chips. Yes, you may all send me love letters now. 😉

Breakfast Balls

Ingredients:
1/2 c. oats
1/4 c. light vanilla soymilk
1 tbs. light peanut butter
1 tbs. ground flax seed
1 tbs. wheat germ
1/2 scoop vanilla soy protein powder
sprinkle of ground cinnamon
scant palmful of nondairy chocolate chips

Using a spoon, mash all the ingredients together in a bowl. Roll into bite-sized balls (about 1 small spoonful of dough each). Place on wax paper and refrigerate 1 hour.

(makes 6 bite-sized balls)
Serving size= 3 balls
Calories per serving= 214
Protein per serving= 14!

Mounds Bar Balls
Substitute 1 tbs. coconut flakes for wheat germ
Substitue 1 tbs. vegan dark chocolate peanut butter for light peanut butter

**Other fun recipe ideas:
Apple cinnamon breakfast balls (shredded apple, cinnamon, nutmeg)
Tropical snack balls (shredded coconut, 1/2 mashed banana)
Trail mix power balls (chunky peanut butter, dried cranberries, chopped dried apricots, sunflower seeds)
Chocoholic snack balls (chocolate peanut butter, cocoa powder, mashed dates, chocolate protein powder, chocolate chips)

One Response

  1. The matchless message, is interesting to me 🙂

Leave a Reply

