Mounds Bar Oatmeal

I’m having a really really really big “Woe is me” day and I know if I stay here in the “Create New Post” window long enough I’ll end up writing a really self-indulgent “here’s all the things that are making me upset” post and I really don’t want to do that so….

Here is a post I had saved for an occasion such as this:

……………………………………………………………………………………..

Mounds Bar Oatmeal
I’m a big coconut and chocolate fan, so when I found a bag of coconut flakes that hadn’t been used up yet I got really excited to try this out. Let me tell you, it was very mounds bar-y! Cooking some of the coconut with the oats really made the difference because those pieces were softened and gave the oatmeal a great flavor!

Ingredients
1/2 c. oats
1/2 c. vanilla soymilk
1/2 c. water
3 tbs. dried, sweetened coconut flakes
1 tbs. wheat germ
1 handful non-dairy chocolate chips
agave nectar to sweeten

1. Combine oats, soymilk, water, 2 tbs. coconut flakes, and wheatgerm in a bowl and microwave 1-2 minutes until desired consistency. Stir in agave until desired sweetness.
2. Top with 1 tbs. coconut flakes and chocolate chips
3. Let the chips soften a bit and then stir them in!

Wooden cheese board from: Crate & Barrel
Oversized mug from: Anthropologie

Leave a Reply

