Pesto Mash Open Faced Sandwich

I am a huge fan of garbanzo beans (chick peas) and everything made from them. Sometimes though, they can be a bit bland so the other day I was digging around in my fridge and came across a delicious garlicy pesto that we had used as a yummy spread on toast with previous dinners. (Seriously, pesto on toast is delicious with pasta!) I decided to try it with the chick peas and see how it turned out. I was too hungry to get the food processor out so I just mashed the pesto into the chickpeas with a fork. It was delicious! I actually enjoyed the thicker than hummus texture.

And, in case you were wondering, here’s some facts about chick peas….

Protein in a serving: 12g
Fiber in a serving: 11g
Fat in a serving: 3g
Vitamins in high levels: Folate (71%), B6 (57%), Iron (26%), Thiamin (13%)

Ingredients:
1/4 c. chick peas
1 tbs. pesto
tomato slices
romaine lettuce
rye bread slice
kosher salt & black pepper to taste

1. Mash the pesto into the chick peas with a fork until combined and the chick peas are all broken
2. Layer bread, lettuce, mash, and tomato and then sprinkle with a dash of kosher salt and black pepper
3. Mangia!

………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

And now we’re proud to announce the winner from our 6 words contest….

There were so many really fabulous entires but Rachel Liz really won us over with hers:
“‘You’d leave all this?’ She nodded.”

And “Honorable Mentions” for this one that made me laugh out loud…
“Eating salad but craving a cupcake”

Rachel, please email me at missmariemusings@gmail.com so that I can get your address to send you your gift card!

Thank you to everyone who made it a fun exercise in creativity! Ya’ll rock my world!

Leave a Reply

