Gingerbread Men

The smell of pine. Twinkling lights. Delicately wrapped gifts. Hot cocoa. Cinnamon. Cranberries. Stockings. Apple Cider. Gingerbread.

Recipe #2 of my Christmas goodies of ’08 is for those of you out there that love old-time Christmas charm. So for you Christmas traditionalists out there, please enjoy!

These chewy, spicy little cookies are so delicious that they will be a sure (animal free) crowd-pleaser this Christmas. Add to that the nostalgia of simple gingerbread men and you have got a hit. I had never made gingerbread before. I had also never made molasses cookies before. So when I saw this recipe for gingerbread molasses cookies I knew I had to made them! This recipe took about 5 minutes to whip up. Even rolling and cutting the little men out was quick. I think I rolled, cut, and baked all the cookies in 20 minutes. If you are baking these for a party, you will want to double or triple the recipe. It yielded 16 gingerbread men for me and I used a 6in. cookie cutter.

This recipe is originally from PPK. The only reason it’s adapted is because I didn’t have any regular sugar left after making my Christmas Candy the other day so I substituted brown sugar. And I upped the cinnamon a tad. You know how I am. 🙂

Gingerbread Men

Ingredients

1/3 c. canola oil
3/4 c. brown sugar
1/4 c. molasses
1/4 c. soymilk (I used Silk vanilla)
2 c. all purpose flour
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. ground nutmeg
1 tsp. ground cinnamon
1 1/2 tsp. ground ginger

1. Whisk together oil and brown sugar for about 3 minutes until well combined
2. Add in molasses and soymilk and continue to whisk until mixed
3. In another bowl, sift together all the dry ingredients
4. Add dry to wet slowly, stirring continually until the dough becomes fairly stiff
5. Form a disk out of the dough. Wrap the disk in plastic wrap and chill in the fridge for 1 hour.
6. Preheat oven to 350.
7. On a lightly floured surface, roll out the dough until it is 1/4 in. thick
8. Cut out your gingerbread people. Gently transfer them to a lightly greased cookie sheet and bake for 8 minutes.
9. Allow to completely cool before icing.

Leave a Reply

