Taste Test: Gluten Free Dreams

Today I picked up a box of Gluten Free Dreams Sugar Cookie Mix by Cherrybrook Kitchen.

I walked into a brand new Whole Foods Market here in Orlando and felt like I walked into a dream. Not only did a shimmering juice bar greet me but the store was HUGE with many more products and offerings than the store I previously frequented. (I say frequentED because this new store just kicked the old store’s ass.) The cute graphics on this cookie box caught my eye (apparently I am the target market) and I decided to try them out and then give them an official Miss Marie Blog Review.

I have never tried anything Wheat & Gluten Free. I know that a lot of people have allergies to gluten and there are so many talented bakers out there in the blogosphere who are blogging about wonderful gluten-free recipes. (Veggie Girl is a current favorite.) I have never been diagnosed with a gluten allergy but I am always looking for something new, healthy, and delicious and these seemed to be all of those things.

The Outside

First of all, the box is really cute. I know it’s something simple but graphic design and how the outside looks really makes a difference in my opinion of a product’s quality. This box is super cute.

The box advertises that the sugar cookie mix is Peanut Free, Dairy Free, Egg Free, Nut Free, Wheat Free, and Gluten Free. So what’s in it? That’s what I thought too. The ingredients are rice flour, evaporated can juice, potato starch, tapioca flour, non-alluminated baking powder, xanthan gum, and sea salt. Seems pretty straightforward. And pretty clean. I like it.

The box boasts that 1 cookie is only 70 calories. That’s wonderful! I’m already liking this product. But it makes sense since there’s no milk, eggs, or butter in these. The company also allows you collect the box flaps and trade them in for free mixes, water bottles, and other things. They also make note of the fact that the machines they use to make this mix do not process andy dairy, egg, peanut or tree nut products so consumers don’t have to worry the slightest about cross contamination if they or their loved ones are highly allergic. Bravo.

The Inside

I was a little skeptical when I tasted the dry mix because it wasn’t all that sweet. But after mixing in the required vanilla, soymilk and melted butter substitute, it came together nicely and tasted just like any other sugar cookie dough although it was a bit stickier. (aka no rolling out on a baking sheet without letting it chill for a few hours)

I decided that I wanted to turn these into Snickerdoodles so I added 1 tsp. cream of tartar to the dough and then rolled the dough in a cinnamon/organic sugar mixture before baking.

Final Judgement

Delicious! I’d like to try a blind taste test between these and my old non-vegan recipe because I’m not sure I’d be able to tell. If I were to guess, I’d say these are less heavy which is probably a very good thing. I was extremely surprised by how “normal” they tasted, looked, and felt. All together an amazing cookie mix. I highly recomment it.

Nom Rating:

Mr. Beagle: A+
He really liked them. I’m always surprised at how accepting he is of all my “healthy alternative” baking.

Me: A+
These were great. If I had a food allergy I would be so excited by these! I’d love to try to make these from scratch one day but after looking at the ingredients at whole foods I decided buying the mix is way cheaper. LOL.

In other news…

Andrea surprised me the other day by honoring me with another award. She wrote such a sweet little paragraph about my blog and I feel so flattered. (And now a little guilty that I didn’t write such nice things for the people I gave my last award to.) I’m even more flattered that I was included in such wonderful list of awardees that she chose!

Thank you so much Andrea and to everyone else who has visited, commented, and sent me sweet notes of encouragement. I love this creative community!

This award came with no rules so I’ll hand it out to two foodie blogs, and two non-foodie blogs that are regular commenters (gotta give love to get love people) and that I absolutely love:

Foodies:
A Place For Us: Earlier this year she transitioned herself and her family into a more healthful vegetarian lifestyle and is blogging through the journey. She includes lots of photos from their day-to-day life. And if her down-to-earth tone doesn’t draw you instantly in, the photos of the view from their garden will!

Dishing Up Delights: Esi always has creative recipes gracing the pages of her blog. They are all beautiful and look delicious! She really got me hooked when she did an entire series of recipes incorporating pomegranate seeds a week or two ago. You’ll be amazed!

Non-foodies:
Larissa Monologues: Larissa and I have been following each other’s blogs for a while now and I’m excited to share that she just recently found out that she and her husband are EXPECTING! Her posts are heart-warming and up-lifiting and I always look forward to what she will share next.

Life According to Mrs. LC: Mrs. LC is a newly blogging newlywed that just recently began her degree in Nutrition. Her blog is loaded with fun posts of recipes, stories, and amazing little freebies that she finds and shares with the blogosphere.

Thanks everyone! Keep passing the love around! (Wow that sounds very 70’s doesn’t it? LOL)

Leave a Reply

