Harvest Black Bean Soup

I get to cross another recipe off my Top 5 list today. (I’ve been replacing them as I go, in case you were confused.) This may be my favorite blogosphere recipe yet! I found this little jewel at Vegan Deliciousness even though the original recipe is listed at 28 Cooksand have been so excited to try it ever since.

I would have never thought to combine pumpkin and black beans, and in this amazing soup the pumpkin is really very delicate. I added more spices than the recipe called for but that’s just what I always do. It was delicious! I am making more tonight and sticking it in the freezer because this may just be my new favorite soup.

If you’ve been following my blog and thinking, “I really want to try one of those recipes!” I highly suggest you start with this one. It’s so delicious! I made a few small tweaks to the original recipe and here’s what I ended up with…

Ingredients

1 tbs. nonhydrogenated butter substitute
1 clove garlic, minced
1 tbs. curry
1 tbs. cumin
1/4 tsp. kosher salt
1 tbsp. flour
1 1/2 c. soymilk
1 c. vegetable broth
1 can pumpkin
1/2 can black beans, drained
1 tsp. cayenne
pinch of nutmeg

Melt butter in a pot, add garlic and saute for 1 minute.
Add curry, cumin, salt, soymilk, and broth and saute for 1 minute.
Whisk in flour and other ingredients
Bring to a boil, stirring continually
Reduce heat to a simmer and simmer 5 minutes
Process in batches in a blender until smooth
Garnish with raw pumpkin seeds

Nom Rating:

Mr. Beagle: n/a
He’s {still} not here 😦

Me: A++++++
This is my favorite thing that I’ve made in the last few months. This recipe was warm and very autumnal. The pumpkin is light and does not overpour the soup but still gives it a creamy warmth. The black beans help to fill out the soup’s texture, which I like since I like thicker soups. The original recipe calls for less cumin, curry, and cayenne than I listed but I think the Holy C-nity deserves more so I upped all their measurements.

Leave a Reply

