What now, Cupcake?

By now, it’s pretty evident that cupcakes are the new pink. They’ve come back with a bang and with a makeover. Once iced lazily with a butter knife, they are now hand decorated using tools once reserved for wedding cakes. When we all first saw these new and improved little delights, they blew our minds.

And now… I’m about to blow yours. (Are you excited yet?)

I’m addicted to I Heart Cuppycakes’ Blog. She has amazing ideas and is a master at presentation. Inspired by the gorgeous cupcakes I see all over the blogosphere, I decided to take muffins one step further. That’s right, I said it, “MUFFINS”. No longer will muffins be the ugly stepsisters to cupcakes. No longer will they remain un-iced. No longer with they be (gasp) bald! 😉

Yesterday I made sweet potato tartlets and had a good amount of filling leftover. I put it in the fridge last night and decided I’d try to make good use of it (since I’m on a “use up everything in the pantry before shopping” kick). And today I decided that muffins were the perfect creations for using up the rest of the filling. I added some flour, baking powder and salt to the sweet potato filling and baked them for about 15 minutes in a mini-muffin tin. The result? Good, but not sweet enough. The answer? Icing! But not real icing, no. This is a muffin, let’s not get crazy people.

I got out my butter (read: vegan non-hydrogenated butter substitute) and whipped it up with brown sugar until it was nice and fluffy. Then I piped it on top and sprinkled the top with cinnamon. New result? Delectable! Voi-la!

What now, Cupcake?

Leave a Reply

