Don’t call me "Sweety" Potato Tartlets

I’m a Floridian and I know that everyone just kind of smiles politely and nods along when we gush over the “crisp” weather and how much we love “Autumn”. But give us a break, we gotta work with what we’ve got, and come March when you’re all freezing your cider-drinking asses off you’re going to be jealous that I’m in the backyard with a margarita and a bikini. 😉

When I woke up today it was a crisp (There’s that word!) and beautiful temperate outside. The kind of temperature that whispers softly to me, “It’s okay, wear the super cute scarf from Urban Outfitters. Fall is here and winter is just around the corner! But, uh…no Hun…not the boots. Yeah, go ahead and take those off. You just look silly, and it’s gonna be 85 by noon.”

I wore the scarf (passed on the boots with a twinge of jealousy for my boot-wearing sisters in NYC) and decided that I wanted to make something new today. I wanted to be creative. I headed to my kitchen to see what was available…{oats; sugar; flour; cans of pumpkin, butternut, and sweet potato; molasses; spices….Hmmm} I decided to work with the sweet potato. I’m just loving all of the rich autumnal flavors and sweet potato is definitely one of them.

First I thought I’d make some sort of muffins but I couldn’t find anything that really excited me. Next I moved to cookies, but everything looked too familiar. Then I thought, “don’t they make pies out of this stuff?” It turns out that they do in fact and the pies look great. But, I’m in a condo by myself for a week. I don’t need to make a whole pie. How could I make them smaller? I remembered a set of tartlet tins my mom had given me a few years ago- PERFECT!

Again a conundrum: What kind of crust? A regular pie crust would suit but that’s not very original now is it? Maybe some sort of cookie crust? Nope, I have no cookies in the pantry. Gotta work with what I’ve got. I got it! Oatmeal! I’ve been oatmeal crazy these last few weeks so why not just go one day further? 🙂

So now for your viewing (and hopefully later tasting) enjoyment…

Sweet Potato Tartlets


Get it? Sweet because of the heart and because of the potatoes? I’m here all week people…

For the crust:
1/2 c. light brown sugar
1 c. oats
1 c. flour
1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 c. non-hydrogenated butter substitute ( I love this one)
1 tsp. cinnamon

1. Preheat oven to 325 and lightly butter 6 tartlet tins
2. Stir together sugar, oats, flour, baking powder, salt and cinnamon
3. Add butter and and mix until mixture is crumbly but forming a big ball of dough
4. Press dough into each tin making sure to keep the crust even
5. Chill 15 minutes
6. Bake 20 minutes

For the filling
1 can organic sweet potato puree
3/4 c. sugar
2 tbs. molasses
1 tsp. nutmeg
1 tsp. powdered ginger
1 tsp. cinnamon
1 banana (mashed)
2 tbs. non-hydrogenated butter substitute (melted)
3/4 c. soy milk
1/4 tsp. vanilla extract

1. Preheat oven to 300
2. Combine sweet potato and sugar in a large bowl. Beat in molasses and banana.
3. Add spices and stir in soy milk and butter until well combined.
4. Pour into shells (1/3 cup fills them perfectly)
5. Bake for 20 minutes until edges of the filling are firm but the center quivers a little.

Nom Rating:

Mr. Beagle: n/a
He’s not here 😦

Me: A
I was really proud of myself with this one. This one was really a creation from start to finish for me. I loved the sweet potato filling. It was the perfect amount in each bite and the mix of savory spices and sugar really gave it a lot of depth. The oatmeal crust was wonderful and different. But you’ll definitely need a big glass of soymilk and a partner to help you finish one of these. They are so filling!

Leave a Reply

