Savory Butternut Squash Soup

This photo is not without a commentary. I needed comfort food. I’m feeling very lonely. Mr. Beagle is currently 38000 feet in the air on his way to Cupertino and I am at sitting here at sea level in an empty condo missing him. He’ll be gone for a week enjoying gorgeous California on Apple‘s tab while I’m here tending to our business and working like crazy. So, while I wallow in melodramatic loneliness, I decided to make myself something soothing and savory. Going along with my “try to use things already in the panty” mantra, I reorganized our kitchen and discovered that I could whip up a batch of butternut squash soup. (Thanks to Target for having a bogo sale on pumpkin and butternut squash last week! Glorious! Expect something pumpkin soon.)

I have had butternut squash soup before and I love it but I had never tried my hand at making it myself. After looking up a bunch of different versions all with different styles (harvest, pure, spicy, savory, sweet, fruity, etc) I decided to just mix and match until I came up with something I liked. This recipe is very simple, a little sweet, a little warm, and a lot “savory”.

Ingredients

1 tsp. olive oil
1 tsp minced garlic
1 can organic pureed butternut squash
1 c. vegetable broth
1/2 c. soymilk
1/2 c. coconut milk
1 tsp. ginger
1 tbs. curry
2 tsp. kosher salt (or just “to taste”)
1 tsp. cinnamon
1 tsp. nutmeg
1 tbsp. agave nectar to sweeten
Fresh grated black pepper

Heat a pot on medium heat
Add oil and garlic and saute until tender
Add squash, broth, soymilk and spices
Bring to a boil then reduce to a simmer and simmer uncovered for 10 minutes
Stir in coconut milk and agave
Add fresh grated black pepper
Garnish with pumpernickel croutons

This soup is best described as “savory”. The curry and ginger add depth and a little warmth while the cinnamon, nutmeg, and agave add that harvest sweetness that we all love so much about this time of year. I also like my soup thick and creamy which is why I substituted the 2 milks for some broth. But I didn’t just want creaminess, I wanted flavor so I used not only soymilk, but coconut milk. If you prefer your soups less creamy, just omit the 2 milks and increase the vegetable broth by 1 cup.

Nom Rating:

Mr. Beagle: n/a
He’s not here 😦

Me: A+
I really love it, it’s sweet with a bit of heat. It’s thick and creamy and filling. Perfectly comforting. I will definitely be making this again. Maybe next time I’ll add apples. Hm…

Leave a Reply

