Dinner in a Bowl

Alternate title: How to make a kick ass, satisfying vegan dinner for a vegetarian and a meat eater on a budget. 🙂

After reading an amazing post about eating healthy during the recession I decided that I was going to stop buying the frivolous items that I usually get (like sorbets, veggie chips, pre-made soups, etc). Instead, I want to start buying staple foods like grains in bulk and produce in season, fresh weekly from the farmers market. And, I’ve been trying to cook using only what I already have in my pantry. I tried my new plan today at the store and my normal grocery tab of about $75 dropped to $30. Bravo!

That being said, tonight I went a little kitchen crazy and decided to try my hand at this dinner in a bowl as a sweet, hearty dinner for Mr. Beagle and myself. I wasn’t planning on posting about it since the only recipe I really created myself was for the zucchini, but I thought this would be a perfect way to show how simple it can be to cook dinner for a vegetarian and a meat eater.

The recipes I used for this meal were:
Panko Baked Tofu (Mahi for him) and Snappy Sauce
Sour Creamy Potatoes
Sweet Julienned Zucchini

The nice thing about this is that both Mahi and the tofu filets need to cook at 400 degrees for 20 minutes so it’s a perfect way to prepare one main dish that suits both of our preferences. I prepared the mahi the same way I did the tofu by first coating it in honey dijon mustard and then breading it with the Panko mixture.

Sour Creamy Potatoes

3 large potatoes washed, peeled, and cut into large pieces
3/4 c. Tofutti Sour Cream
1/4 c. Soymilk
salt and pepper to taste

Place the potatoes in a pot and fill with water until the potatoes are all submerged.
Bring them to a boil and then cover and simmer for 20 minutes or until fork tender.
Drain the potatoes and then put them in a bowl with the milk, sour cream, and salt and pepper.
Use beaters to whip whip them until they are creamy. I sprinkled them with parsley for garnish.

Sweet Julienned Zucchini

1 large organic zucchini
Curry spices
2 tbs. olive oil
salt and pepper to taste

For the zucchini I decided to try something a little different. I wanted them to be bright and tender but also a little sweet and savory so I sauteed the zucchini (cut into 1/8 in strips, aka “julienned”) with olive oil, garlic, black pepper, and curry spices. The curry added just the right amount of “savory” to the veggies and complimented the mahi/tofu really well.

I then made these delectable Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies from Vegan Girl’s blog. I cut the recipe down so that I could make just a few cookies for Mr. Beagle and I to enjoy tonight. (Lord knows I don’t need dozens of cookies floating around my house all week.) They are AMAZING! I wanted to take a picture but I had already put all my camera gear away so you’ll just have to go look at them on her blog. 🙂

So, to wrap up. My dinner was vegan. Mr. Beagle’s was just healthy. The only non-vegan aspect of his meal was his fish. I’m telling you ladies and gentlemen, it so easy to bridge the gap if you just get a little creative. 🙂

Nom Rating:

Mr. Beagle: A++
Ask and you shall receive. Last time I made my breaded tofu he suggested I use the same technique on chicken or fish for him. He loved it all, especially the potatoes. I was showered with flattery all throughout the meal. He’s a big fan of snappy sauce and peanut butter cookies.

Me: A++
So good! I was surprised how tasty the Tofutti non-dairy sour cream was. Between that and soymilk, the potatoes were super creamy with a little zing. The cookies taste delicious but were a little cakey. I think that’s just because I’m bad at math and tried to make only 1/3 of the recipe. HaHa.

Leave a Reply

