Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal


*bonus points to the first person to identify the catalog in the background*

Did you know that it was ridiculously easy to make oatmeal from scratch? Apparently everyone knew and I missed the memo. I have vague memories of my mom and me making it from scratch when I was young but the most I can remember about the recipe is that my mom and I always argued over how much brown sugar I could add in.

While perusing the various VegMoFo blogs this week I kept stumbling upon delicious-looking oatmeal recipes. I haven’t had oatmeal in a while since I’m trying to avoid processed and packaged foods. But this morning, I got a craving and had to give in. I browsed through a few different recipes and decided that making it from scratch would be {super} easy.

In the spirit of fall, and in accordance with my obsession with pumpkin, I whipped up Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal. I think the uses for pumpkin puree are endless! Yes, it is as good as it sounds. It tastes and smells like pumpkin pie. I even added chocolate chips. Oh behave!

Ingredients:

1/2 c. oats
1 scant c. water (I don’t like my oatmeal runny, you can add more if you like)
4 tbs. pumpkin puree
1 tbs. agave nectar
1 tbs. cinnamon
1 tbs. soy milk
dash of kosher salt
sprinkle of nutmeg and allspice (if you have it)
dairy free chocolate chips to garnish (these are my favorite)

Microwave oatmeal and water for 1 1/2 minutes, add pumpkin, agave, spices, soy milk and salt and stir until combined.
Top with chocolate chips and then stir them in once they melt.

Nom Rating:

Mr. Beagle: B+
I gave him my leftovers and he said they were too cold. Poor guy. And he wanted it sweeter.

Me: A
I could have handled sweeter as well but I don’t like too much sweet in the morning. After we discussed our new found affinity for oatmeal, we decided that the oatmeal variations are limitless and got really excited about trying out new flavors. Peanut butter & Chocolate, Banana Nut Bread… I’m excited.

Leave a Reply

