Panko Baked Tofu & Snappy Sauce

Tonight I get to cross off another of my Top 5 Recipes I want to try (over there –>). I chose to try my hand at the Dinner in a Bowl posted by Cupcake Punk who is quickly becoming one of my favorite food blogs to stalk. Since I am me, I didn’t have the necessary ingredients {shocking!} but that’s okay because I was in the mood for something a little more savory anyway. So, I got creative and this is what I came up with: Panko Baked Tofu & Snappy Sauce. Yes, “snappy” because it’s got a little bit of a zing and because it takes all of 2 minutes to whip up. Thank you very much, I’ll be here all week.

I couldn’t get Mr. Beagle to try to tofu (even though he tried the sauce) but my culinary talents did elicit a “what are you cooking?” and one very empassioned “that smells reaaaalllly good!”

Ingredients:

1 8oz package pre-marinated tofu (or you can marinate it yourself in soy sauce)
1 c. panko breakcrumbs
1 tbs. curry spices
dash kosher salt
fresh grated black pepper to taste
3 tbs. honey dijon mustard

1. Preheat oven to 400
2. Line a baking pan with parchment paper or oil it slightly to keep the tofu from sticking during baking
3. On a small plate mix together breadcrumbs, curry spices, salt and pepper.
4. Slice the tofu into 1/2 inch thick strips and coat each side with mustard.
4. Coat each piece of tofu with the breadcrumb mixture
5. Bake for 20 minutes or until breadcrumbs turn golden brown

For Snappy Sauce

Combine equal parts honey dijon mustard and bar-b-que sauce in a small container. Add white wine vinegar until sauce is the consistency of soy sauce. Stir in a pinch of chili powder. Add a bit of agave nectar to sweeten.

I made this as I went so I can’t tell you the exact amounts but the fun of this is that you make it to taste. You can make it spicier by adding more chili powder, sweeter by adding more mustard and agave, and more savory by adding more bar-b-que sauce.

Nom Rating:

Mr. Beagle: n/a
He has a strong aversion to tofu so he wouldn’t try it. But he did love the snappy sauce and kept saying how good everything was smelling and that he wanted to try this recipe on fish or chicken later.

Me: A+
This was sooooo good. I ate it in less than 5 minutes. Like Mr. Beagle suggested, this would be a great recipe for fish or chicken as well. It’s a little sweet, a little sour, and a little spicy. And the sauce…it’s going to become one of my kitchen go-to sauces, I can feel it.

Leave a Reply

