Creamy Cool Olive Dip

The other day I spent a few hours browsing the blogs of writer/baker’s participating in the VegMoFo. I found so many amazing food blogs, vegan blogs, and cupcake blogs and was literally drooling at my laptop over some of the recipes. (Snickerdoodle cupcakes? Hell yes!) I picked a few favorites that I wanted to try (listed now in the sidebar) and when Mr. Beagle wanted to pick up some beverages from the grocery store, I thought I’d try out the Olive Dip I had seen. Unfortunately, I didn’t have the recipe with me so I made mine a little different but it still turned out really tasty. It has a slightly mediterranean zing but is still very cool and creamy. Perfect to use instead of mayo on sandwiches, or stuffed in cherry tomatoes for an appetizer. It’s also really good as a dip with nachos. 🙂

Creamy Cool Olive Dip

Ingredients:

I 12.3 oz. package of organic firm silken tofu
1 large clove of garlic (of course I added more 😉 )
1 tsp Kosher salt
1/3 c. black olives, pitted and halved
1/2 tsp black pepper
a few sprigs of fresh parsley leaves
Pinch of fresh dill

Combine all ingredients in food processor and pulse until combined.
Chill and serve as a sandwich spread or dip

* I think this dip would probably be better with the kalamata olives from the original recipe. Also, if you are not vegan I think that feta cheese would be a really tasty addition to the dip (sadly I didn’t have any on hand). But, as it is, it is a very cool and creamy dip for veggies, nachos, an appetizer, or sandwich spread that is high in protein and much better for you than mayo or sour cream. Enjoy!

Nom Rating:

Mr. Beagle: C
Not his favorite but it made for a good dip for his nachos

Me: B
Like I said before, I think this would have been better with the right olives. I’ll have to try this one again with kalamata and see if it’s different.

Leave a Reply

