Homemade Vegan Candy Corn

Because of the cool breeze, I decided to celebrate the coming of October by attempting to make my own candy corn. The Urban Housewife inspired me with her post a few days ago with a vegan candycorn recipe. I’m just a humble vegetarian, I’ve never made the switch to vegan. Sadly, I enjoy real ice cream and cheese way to much. But, I do like to be as health-concious as I can be and avoid dairy in instances when it isn’t completely necessary. And candycorn seemed like a great chance to try it out. (The recipe was adapted from a regular candy corn recipe for all of you who want real butter in your candy, but I promise you the vegan ones taste just as good)

First gather your ingredients. It’s a short list so it won’t be too hard.

Ingredients:
1 cup sugar
2/3 cup corn syrup (preferably organic, avoid high fructose corn syrup!)
5 tablespoons Earth Balance (or other vegan margarine)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 1/2 cups powdered sugar
1/3 cup powdered soy milk ( I couldn’t find this anywhere, if you find it…please let me know!)
a pinch of sea salt
Red & yellow food coloring

Instructions…
In a large saucepan, bring the sugar, corn syrup, Earth Balance, & vanilla to a boil over high heat.
Reduce the heat to medium-high & boil the mixture for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally.
After 5 minutes, remove from heat.
Sift the powdered sugar, powdered soy milk (I used flour since I couldn’t find the powdered milk), & salt into medium bowl.
Add the powdered sugar mixture to pan & stir to combine.
Let the mixture stand until slightly warm to touch, about 20 minutes.

Divide the dough into 3 equal pieces.
Consider putting on rubber gloves, so you don’t stain your hands. Add several drops of yellow food coloring to one piece of dough & knead food coloring into the dough until smooth and color is even. Repeat using red & yellow food coloring (for orange) with the second piece & leave the last piece white, but knead it until smooth. This isn’t an easy task & could take up to 15 minutes!
Roll each piece into ropes of equal length (don’t roll too thin or the dough will break) and push the three ropes together to form a long rectangle.

Using sharp knife, cut the ropes into triangles. Some will be white tipped & some will be yellow tipped.
This (supposedly) yeilds 110 candy corn, larger than store-bought.

My notes:
Like I said, I couldn’t find the powdered soy milk so I used flour and a little bit of acutal soy milk in it’s place. My candy corn were a little softer than they should have been and I think it’s because of that fact. But they still taste great. I used a little more vanilla because I like it. These are slightly less sweet than store-bought which is good because you won’t get that sick-to-your stomach feeling after eating a few. Such a great recepe!
Getting all your candy corn the same size is hard so if you’re not too Type A about it, just let it go. It’s hard to get each rope the exact same size and each cut the exact same width. And please, please, please buy organic corn syrup. It’s more pricey but it’s so much better. High Fructose Corn Syrup is one of the worst things you can put in your body.

These passed the outsider taste test since I took them to my two girlfriends the next morning. I’ll probably make some more and try to find the powdered soy because I’d like them to be a little harder next time.

Try these out sometime this month. They are a lot of fun and pretty easy to make. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

