On junk food poisoning, and monsters of the green persuasion…

Not even joking I think I had 24 hour junk food poisioning. “Is that a thing?” you ask. Well, hear me out and judge for yourself. Yesterday I felt fine all day. I don’t even remember what I ate during the day because the day just flew by (oh wait, I had oatmeal for lunch). I went out with some friends for sushi, had a business meeting afterward and came home feeling a bit drained. Then the headache started. A slight headache that grew to a full power beast of a headache. (Not quite a migraine, but it was chilling on the borderline.) Then I got revenously hungry. I made more oatmeal, had three bites and changed my mind about the whole oatmeal thing. I drank a big glass of water. I made some tea. Then I had some spinach dip hoping that some salt would ease the snacking jones. When it didn’t I resorted to some sugary cereal we had in the pantry from when we had family in town. And I sat on the sofa and ate half the box before I realized it. Ugh. About an hour later the headache was making my neck stiff and I just felt gross. My stomach hurt, I felt poisoned, I felt emotionally grouchy. And it hit me… the processed sugary food did it! I drank another glass of water because I was feeling parched then fell asleep.  I had the most fitful sleep waking up 3 times dying for water and drinking 3 glasses over the course of the night. Had crazy dreams. And woke up covered in sweat like I broke a fever. WTF? I really think it was the cereal. This past week I’ve been eating so healthfully. I’ve been having lots of whole foods, very little processed anything and I think the shock of all that refined, sugary crap did a number on me. I’m feeling better today but I decided to deal with the cold, turn on the heat, and make myself a big old green monster.

I seem to never be able to create the same monster twice. (Like lightning, if you will.) But this one was definitely very differnet from any other I’ve had. This was the most “green” tasting and also the creamiest. I liked it much more than I expected. Usually I try and smother the “green” flavor with fruit but not this time. Here’s the recipe if you want to try it yourself…

handful of fresh spinach leaves
2 green cubes, 1 red cube*
1/2 c. light vanilla soy milk
1/2 c. frozen peaches
a few frozen mango chunks
1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder
dash of honey

*The cubes are ice cubes of veggie juice that I made and froze. I do that whenever we have veggies I want to use up before they go bad and then I save them for smoothies later on so I can get some extra veggies in without having to juice them every day. I know that the nutrients aren’t as great as fresh but it’s better than having none, and it helps us save money because two juicings can give me 2-3 trays full of cubes and those last a while.

Green cubes generally have: cucumber, kale, green apple, celery, lemon

Red cubes generally have: beets, red apples, peaches, carrots

PS. I’m on twitter and I’d love to chat with you all over there.
ABBY FLABS ON TWITTER.

3 Responses

  1. I totally agree with you about the eating. I can always tell when I have been eating clean, then slip up. My body does not like the processed junk. Its is hard for me to resist sometimes, but the reaction my body gives me helps keep me on track!

  2. As a retired microbiologist I would question the part where you said “I went out with some friends for sushi” when you said you felt bad. Not that I have anything against that form of cuisine. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

